April 7, 2013



ISA President Fernando Aguerre, along with Minister of Sport Jose Franciso Cevallos and the Governor of Santa Elena John Paul Soto Garcia, amongst the flags of the National Teams, declared the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship officially open. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales.

20 National Delegations Marched Through the Streets and Along the Beach of Montañita in Front of Thousands of Locals During the Opening Ceremony

The 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship officially opened Saturday, April 6, 2013. In attendance were the 20 countries that traveled to Ecuador from every corner of the world. Local authorities, officials and thousands of enthusiastic Ecuadorians were witnesses to the start of the World Championship.

The National Delegations congregated in the heart of Montañita and walked through the streets that were filled with thousands of supporters. The Parade of Nations route then took a turn to the beach and finished at the Concha Acustica stage, that was located adjacent to the ocean. When arriving to the stage, two representatives of each team walked on stage, one waving the national flag while the other poured sand from their local beach into a glass container, symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

“I am very happy to see the love of Ecuador’s people for the ocean, and I have high hopes for this championship and that it marks the relationship between people and the ocean,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Montañita is a wonderful place; it’s an incredible paradise! Take care of it and give it your love. Thank you Ecuador, Santa Elena, Montañita, the government, the private sector and the people of Ecuador. Thank you for having us.”

“What happiness and joy it brings me to be in my land and know the pride that we feel for once again organizing an event of this magnitude and transmit to the world that we are capable of organizing and executing in a successful way,” said Ecuador’s Minister of Sport Jose Francisco Cevallos, referencing the two previous ISA World Championship held in Ecuador. “Thank you very much for all the support that has been given to this magnificent event.”

After a beautiful showcase of local Ecuadorian traditional dances, President Aguerre, Minister Cevallos, and Governor Soto officially declared open the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship.

Following the Opening Ceremony, a 7-meter (22 feet) sculpture was unveiled, honoring Montañita’s historic contribution to the development of surfing in Ecuador. This sculpture marks Montañita as an international surfing destination, where it will welcome surf travelers from around the world

20 Delegaciones Nacionales desfilaron a través de las calles y en la playa de Montañita. ISA/Gonzales

20 National Delegations paraded through the streets and along the beaches of Montañita in Front of Thousands of enthusiastic Ecuadorians. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Competition starts on Sunday with The Morning Show at 7:40am (local time) followed by Qualifying 1 of Grand Masters (over 40 years old) at 8am, Qualifying 1 of Masters (over 35 years old) at 11am, and Qualifying 1 of Kahunas (over 45 years old) at 2:20pm.

The live webcast of the entire championship is available on

Here is the schedule:
Sunday, 7:40am Montañita, Ecuador
Sunday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Sunday, 2:40pm Western Europe
Sunday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on